Over the past decade, the annual Nurse of Distinction Awards gala has honored the professionalism, dedication and leadership of 1199SEIU nurses. Honorees are recognized for demonstrating exemplary work ethics and a commitment to excellence through challenges faced in healthcare. The program is administered by a joint committee of 1199SEIU RN program members and nonmembers.

2018 Nurse of Distinction Award Winners

Nurse of Distinction in a Hospital Setting


Evelin Hernandez
Montefiore Medical
—Wakefield Division

First Runner-Up

Jacqueline Gulstone
Brookdale University
Hospital and Medical

Second Runner-Up

Yelena Tenemaza
Long Island Jewish
Forest Hills—
Northwell Health

Nurse of Distinction in a Nursing Home Setting


Novelette Wynter
The Schulman & Schachne
Institute for Nursing and Rehabilitation


Galina Alakbarova
Mary Manning

Novice Nurse of the Year

Steven Kunak
Good Samaritan Hospital

Nurse Preceptor of the Year

Kallema Tandrian
Jamaica Hospital

Nurse Leader of the Year

Juleen Johnson
Brookdale University Hospital
and Medical Center

Click here to see past nominees and winners
Click here to read profiles of select 2017 and 2016 nominees